Acces to the Website of the Health's Ministry Back to home page home-page
Bathing water quality
Sanitary control organisation
Advices and recommendations
Water and health

Bathing Water Quality and Human Health


Table of contents


Swimmer's dermatitis or "duck itch"

published on 01/08/2008

For some ten year's now, the number of epidemic breakouts in swimmer's dermatitis has both surged and spread, across all European countries, and during the past decade (1990-2000), with one or two breakouts identified in France.


lake with ducks
Swimmer’s dermatitis occurs when “swimming” larvae enter bathers’ skin; they are referred to as “cercarial” and come from certain parasites. The larvae infect certain fowl and molluscs. Spring and summer weather conditions seem to foster the extension of parasitic occurrences.

Health Impacts

Swimmer’s dermatitis is a passing skin affliction that can lead to allergy. The affliction is generally benign, even though the reaction is often very strong.
The dermatitis appears immediately after bathing as a tingling sensation at the larvae penetration points. Soon after, small red patches and vesicles appear and persist five to fifteen days, without leaving any marks, but can lead to severe itching. The breakouts are found on part of the body that remain uncovered by bathing wear.
When exposure is repeated, the lesions can be heightened by a hypersensitive reaction (allergic phenomenon).

Health Recommendations

To relieve swimmer’s dermatitis, no individual protection measures intended to prevent larval skin penetration have officially been validated. The use of a repellent used in certain anti-mosquito products is reported to be effective against the larvae. To reduce risk, taking a shower after bathing, and briskly drying the body with a towel after a bath are also reputed to reduce risk, as it would appear that the larvae remain at the skin’s surface for some time before entering.
Should swimmer’s dermatitis symptoms appear, seek a doctor’s advice or go to a pharmacy to ask for appropriate symptom treatment: local anti-inflammatory creams (dermocorticoids) or, in the event of additional infection, fusidic acid. Applying ice to the affected areas, as soon as the first signs appear, can relieve pain immediately.

Accès au site santé Retour à la page d'accueil
Accueil du site baignades.sante.gouv.fr
Actualités à signaler
Qualité des eaux de baignade
Organisation du contrôle sanitaire
Conseils et recommandations
Eau & Santé

La qualité de l'eau de baignade et la santé

 

Sommaire

 
 

La dermatite des nageurs

publié le 7 janvier, 2008
 
     


 
On observe depuis une dizaine d’années une recrudescence et une extension des foyers épidémiques de dermatite des nageurs (DN) sur l’ensemble des pays d’Europe, et au cours de la dernière décennie passée (1990-2000), deux ou trois épisodes ont été répertoriés en France.

Origine

Plan d'eau avec des canards
La dermatite des baigneurs, (improprement appelée " puce du lac ") est due à la pénétration à travers la peau des baigneurs des larves " nageuses ", appelées cercaires de certains parasites. Ces larves infestant certains oiseaux et certains mollusques. Les conditions printanières et estivales semblent favoriser l'extension du phénomène parasitaire.

Conséquences sur la santé

La dermatite du nageur est une affection cutanée passagère pouvant être à l’origine d’allergies. Cette affection généralement bénigne, même si la réaction est souvent violente.
La dermatite se manifeste aussitôt après la baignade par des picotements aux points de pénétration des larves. Peu après, apparaissent sur la peau de petites plaques rouges et des vésicules qui persistent cinq à quinze jours sans laisser de traces, mais qui peuvent provoquer des démangeaisons importantes. Ces éruptions sont localisées sur les parties du corps non couvertes par les maillots de bain.
A l’occasion d’une nouvelle exposition, les lésions peuvent être accentuées par une réaction d'hypersensibilité (phénomène d’allergie).

Conseils sanitaires

Pour lutter contre la dermatite du nageur, aucune mesure de protection individuelle destinée à empêcher la pénétration cutanée des larves n'a été réellement validée. L'utilisation d'un répulsif entrant dans la composition de certains produits anti-moustiques aurait une action contre les larves. Pour réduire les risques, la prise d’une douche après la baignade, le séchage vigoureux du corps avec une serviette après le bain diminuerait les risques. Il semble, en effet, que les larves restent quelque temps à la surface de la peau avant d’y pénétrer.
En cas d'apparition des symptômes de la dermatite des nageurs, il est conseillé de consulter un médecin ou de se rendre dans une pharmacie pour recevoir un traitement symptomatologique adapté : application locale de pommades anti-inflammatoire (dermocorticoïdes) ou, en cas de surinfection, d'acide fusidique. Ces traitements entraînent une régression rapide des lésions. La pause de glace sur les zones touchées, dès l'apparition des premiers signes, procure un soulagement immédiat.